Skip to main content

Transplant Games Medals

The Australian Transplant Games are a celebration of life and healthy living. However, we recognise that transplant recipients possess that competitive spirit just as much as the next person. That’s why our competitors receive medals for first, second and third place in each event, it’s a nice reward for competitors who train and prepare year round for this very competition.

We encourage everyone to take part and enjoy the social occasion of The Games regardless of your fitness or skill level. In addition to medals, we also offer a number of awards. Read through the descriptions below and set your personal goals for the Australian Transplant Games in 2016.

Team Awards

The Victor Chang Memorial Shield:

First awarded in 1992, this shield is won by the Australian State/Territory with the highest points score (excluding juniors) over the entire competition. Dedicated to the memory of St Vincent’s Hospital heart transplant pioneer Dr Victor Chang.

The Donor Family Shield:

First awarded in 1998, this shield is won by the state team with the highest average number of total medal points per State representative (excluding juniors). Donated to Transplant Australia by a donor family consortium.

The Mark Cocks Memorial Juniors Shield:

First awarded in 2004, this shield is presented to the most successful state team of junior competitors (aged 17 and under). Dedicated to the memory of Mark Cocks, AM, Transplant Australia’s first chief executive officer from 1996 until shortly before his death in 2007. Mark was a world-ranked professional tennis player and kidney transplant recipient.

The David Cairns Memorial Juniors Shield:

First awarded in 2012, this award is to be made to the most successful State team per competitor of junior competitors (aged 17 and under). Dedicated to the memory of David Cairns, co-founder of Transplant Australia and first life member of Transplant Australia. David was a well-respected University Lecturer and kidney transplant recipient.

The Astellas Transplant Hospital Challenge:

An award sponsored Astellas to recognise the most successful transplant recipient team representing their transplant unit.

Individual Awards

The “Athlete of the Games” Shield:

This Shield is awarded to the most outstanding performance by an Australian male and female transplant athlete at the Games.

The Jan and Daryl Wall International Shield:

This Shield is awarded to the most successful international athlete at the Games. The Award is in recognition of the long-standing contribution of both Jan and Daryl Wall to both international and national transplant games.

DonateLife Shield:

An award sponsored by DonateLife and the Organ and Tissue Authority to recognise the contribution of a donor family or living donor to the ideals and aims of the Australian Transplant Games.

The Clifford T Henderson Awards:

Named after the father of Jan Wall, awards are presented by Jan Wall to the male and female who best demonstrated the “Spirit of the Games”. Jan Wall was our longest-serving Australian team manager and a Transplant Australia life member.

The Lorraine McLeod Memorial Trophy:

This trophy is awarded for spirited and sporting participation in women’s tennis. This award is named in memory of Lorraine McLeod and presented by her husband.

The Jack Nolan Memorial Trophy:

An encouragement award named after Jack Nolan, a heart transplant recipient who, upon his death, donated his corneas. Presented by Jack’s wife, Flick Nolan, this is usually awarded to someone who may not necessarily be a good athlete, but tries hard, often without success.

Transplant Australia Awards

Outstanding Achievement and Distinguished Service Awards