The Board

jason-ryan-transplant-australiaJason Ryan / Chairman

Jason was elected Chairman in April 2015 and is helping to lead a new strategic plan for Transplant Australia. He has a background in volunteering his time to raise funds for worthy organisations including the Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne, Red Cross and Lifesaving Victoria.

christhomasChris Thomas / CEO

Chris Thomas has been the CEO of Transplant Australia since 2004 and has helped grow the organisation into one of the largest of its kind in the world. Chris has played a significant part in the organ and tissue donation reform that has occurred in Australia and is currently on the Organ & Tissue Authority’s Advisory Council. He is also the President of the World Transplant Games Federation.

richard-allenProfessor Richard Allen / Director

Professor Richard Allen is the Director of Transplantation Services at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital. As a transplant surgeon and one of the architects of the paired kidney exchange program Professor Allen is passionate about making transplantation more accessible to all Australians. He is also committed to demonstrating the long-term outcomes of transplantation through activities like the Australian Transplant Games.

Julie Edmonds /Director

Julie Edmonds is the Western Australia State Committee Chair, former State Manager of Kidney Health Australia and a living donor to her sister over 40 years ago. Having worked and volunteered in the transplant community, in particular with living donors, Julie has a broad range of understanding in this sector and is passionate about helping transplant recipients achieve their best.

Lisa Gavin / Director and Company Secretary

Lisa is a Chartered Accountant who has been in the financial services industry for over 25 years. She is currently Head of Tax and Accounting Services at BT Financial Group.

Lisa joined the Board of Transplant Australia in March 2018 as she has a desire to utilise her skills and experience to make a difference to people’s lives.

Colin Liebmann

Colin Liebmann is an experienced business professional and director. His passion for donation arises from the living gift given by his wife to their son. Colin has also volunteered his time to the Living Kidney Donor Group which is now incorporated under Transplant Australia’s work.

James Reilly / Director

James is an influential businessman and Business Development Manager working with ABN Newswire. Since James received a kidney transplant, he has become a passionate advocate of  organ donation and Transplant Australia. James is committed to connecting the wider Australian public to this issue, as well as  funding programs which support transplanted children and their families.

Holly Tyrrell /Director

Holly is the National Participation Manager at Water Polo Australia and has held roles with Surf Life Saving and Equestrian Australia. With her sports management background Holly is passionate about growing the role of sport and physical activity in specific communities, in particular the transplant community. Holly has received two corneal transplants and talks passionately about the transformation and positive impact of her life thanks to such generous donations.

Life Members

Mr David Cairns*

NSW (1990)

Mr Brian Donovan

VIC (1992)

Mr Max King*

SA (1995)

Mr Gary Lowe*

NSW (2000)

Ms Heather Edgell

NSW (2000)

Ms Chris Tew

VIC (2000)

Mr Mark Cocks AM*

NSW (2002)

Mr Warwick Duncan

VIC (2003)

Prof. Daryl Wall AM

QLD (2003)

Ms Jan Wall

QLD (2003)

Dr Antony Harding *

NSW/TAS (2007)

Mr Ian Patten

SA (2007)

Mrs Lyn Budge*

VIC (2009)

Mr Jeff Sewell

NSW (2013)

Mrs Margaret Hill

NSW (2013)

Mr Richard Hayes

QLD (2015)

Ms Julie Edwards

NSW (2018)

Mr George Hobson

WA (2019)

* Deceased

Transplant Australia Achievement Awards

Outstanding Achievement

Matty Hempstalk (2016)

Kevin Green (2014)

Distinguished Service

Sheryl Power, Vicki Bellingham, Julie Moloney (2018)

Margaret Martin and Karen Knuckey (2016)

Margaret Beattie (2014)