The Board

jason-ryan-transplant-australiaJason Ryan / Chairman

Jason was elected Chairman in April 2015 and is helping to lead a new strategic plan for Transplant Australia. He has a background in volunteering his time to raise funds for worthy organisations including the Royal Children’s Hospital; Melbourne, Red Cross and Lifesaving Victoria. He formed MMU, a philanthropic initiative, amongst like-minded corporate citizens in Melbourne more than 10 years ago. Jason is a lawyer by profession and was the in-house legal counsel for Treasury Wine Estates.

christhomasChris Thomas / CEO

Chris Thomas has been the CEO of Transplant Australia since 2004 and has helped grow the organisation into one of the largest of its kind in the world. Chris has played a significant part in the organ and tissue donation reform that has occurred in Australia and is currently on the Organ & Tissue Authority’s Advisory Council. He is also the President of the World Transplant Games Federation.

jan-wallJan Wall / Director

Jan Wall is a Transplant Australia Life Member, who has been involved with Transplant Australia for many years. Jan works tirelessly to promote organ and tissue donation in Australia and improve donation rates while also representing the interests of members on the Board. She is a former Team Manager of the Australian Team to the World Transplant Games.

richard-allenProfessor Richard Allen / Director

Professor Richard Allen is the Director of Transplantation Services at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital. As a transplant surgeon and one of the architects of the paired kidney exchange program Professor Allen is passionate about making transplantation more accessible to all Australians. He is also committed to demonstrating the long-term outcomes of transplantation through activities such as our Cricket Club.

jeremy-chapmanProfessor Jeremy Chapman AC / Medical Director

Professor Jeremy Chapman is a well known and well respected renal transplant physician and is currently the Director of Renal Transplantation at Westmead Hospital. He was the Chair of the Clinical Taskforce which overhauled Australia’s organ donation system and is currently Transplant Australia’s Medical Director. Professor Chapman received an Order of Australia in 2015 for his service to the industry.

Holly Tyrrell3Holly Tyrrell /Director

Holly is the National Participation Manager at Water Polo Australia and has held roles with Surf Life Saving and Equestrian Australia. With her sports management background Holly is passionate about growing the role of sport and physical activity in specific communities, in particular the transplant community. Holly has received two corneal transplants and talks passionately about the transformation and positive impact of her life thanks to such generous donations.

matt-maddocksMatt Maddocks/ Director

Matt Maddocks became involved in Transplant Australia after his son received a liver transplant at a young age. Matt has been involved with the organisation for over 7 years and has helped steer Transplant Australia to become the organisation it is today.

rachRachel Saffron/ Director, Company Secretary

Rachel has a background in corporate governance, having worked as a Company Secretary with various Australian financial institutions for over a decade. In her personal capacity, Rachel volunteers as the secretary for the Commando Welfare Trust. Rachel has qualifications in law and political science from the Australian National University and post graduate qualifications in corporate governance from the Governance Institute of Australia. Rachel has also spent time at the University of California, Berkeley and with Campaigns & Elections Magazine in Washington, D.C.

Life Members

Mr David Cairns*

NSW (1990)

Mr Brian Donovan

VIC (1992)

Mr Max King*

SA (1995)

Mr Gary Lowe*

NSW (2000)

Ms Heather Edgell

NSW (2000)

Ms Chris Tew

VIC (2000)

Mr Mark Cocks AM*

NSW (2002)

Mr Warwick Duncan

VIC (2003)

Prof. Daryl Wall AM

QLD (2003)

Ms Jan Wall

QLD (2003)

Dr Antony Harding

NSW/TAS (2007)

Mr Ian Patten

SA (2007)

Mrs Lyn Budge*

VIC (2009)

Mr Jeff Sewell

NSW (2013)

Mrs Margaret Hill

NSW (2013)

Mr Richard Hayes

QLD (2015)

* Deceased

Transplant Australia Achievement Awards

Outstanding Achievement

Matty Hempstalk (2016)

Kevin Green (2014)

Distinguished Service

Margaret Martin and Karen Knuckey (2016)

Margaret Beattie (2014)