Skip to main content
General News

Congratulations to the recipients coming to the high-performance camp!

By January 14, 2018April 18th, 2018No Comments

A diverse group of transplant recipients from across Australia will come to the Transplant Australia High-Performance Sports Camp in March, the biggest camp of its kind in Australia and  the world.

The camp was developed by Transplant Australia based on research and feedback from members for the need for a high-performance program for recipients who compete in mainstream competition.

A very high standard of athletes will attend the camp at the Runaway Super Sports Centre on the Gold Coast, which will also host several Australian Transplant Games events later in the year.

These competitors, who train 3-4 times a week, self-fund their travel and entry into events, and actively promote the benefits of organ and tissue donation to a wider audience.

They are liver, lung, heart, heart-double lung, kidney and bone marrow recipients from NSW, WA, VIC, ACT, QLD and SA. There are 9 runners, 8 swimmers, 5 cyclists and 7 triathletes.

The high-performance program is one way Transplant Australia can encourage this group, become a more inclusive organisation and create a well-rounded offering which supports recipients at every stage of their journey post-transplant.

It also provides Transplant Australia more avenues to increase our membership services and establish a pathway for younger members who are looking to head down this road.

The goal of all Transplant Australia’s programs is to benefit the majority of our membership and encourage people to be active, participate and achieve personal goals.

A huge congratulations to the following athletes on your selection, and we’ll see you in March!

  1. Matthew Orchard
  2. Trent Mulley
  3. Troy Scudds
  4. Glenn Phipps
  5. Bec Peters
  6. Tamaryn Stevens
  7. Rose Hughes
  8. Logan Heald (Junior)
  9. Brad Stanley
  10. Bryan Williams
  11. Suzanne Halbish
  12. Amy McAlpine
  13. Claire Kerr
  14. Montague Summers
  15. Kate Carlyle
  16. Kate Clark
  17. Tim Clark
  18. Justin Wall
  19. Natalie Hazlewood
  20. Adrienne Mercer
  21. Richard Hayes
  22. Kate Phillips
  23. Scott Garland
  24. Kate Rootsey
  25. Ethan Daws
  26. Doug Alexander
  27. Scott Miller
  28. Kylie Alford
  29. Claudia Carter (Junior)
  30. Bec Craven

The camp starts at 1pm  on Friday 16th March and finishes 10am Sunday 18th March 2018.

Leave a Reply